Louisiana motorists are required to maintain liability insurance on their vehicles with minimum policy limits of 15/30/25. These limits represent $15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage for any person injured in an accident, $30,000 of aggregate bodily injury liability coverage for two or more people injured in an accident, and $25,000 of property damage liability coverage for all vehicles damaged in the accident.
While UM insurance is the most important elective coverage available under your car insurance policy, there are other noncompulsory coverages that are worth exploring.
Medical Payments coverage is not required under Louisiana law, but it is beneficial, especially if you do not have health insurance, or if you have a high deductible health insurance plan. Medical Payments coverage will pay any reasonable and necessary medical expenses that an insured person incurs as a result of a motor vehicle accident, regardless of fault.
Christian Shofstahl esq.
Personal Injury Attorney dedicated to maximizing recoveries for clients. Information contained herein does not constitute legal advice.