The coverages offered by your insurance company include various options such as liability, medical payments and uninsured/underinsured motorist (i.e., UM). However, Louisiana ONLY requires that you purchase liability coverage, which insurance pays for the bodily injuries and property damages you cause to third parties through your negligence while operating a motor vehicle.
Louisiana Revised Statute §32:900(B)(2)(a-c) requires that liability insurance policies on personal vehicles have a minimum coverage of 15/30/25. This means that there is $15,000.00 of available insurance for bodily injuries caused to one person, with an aggregate total of $30,000.00 of available insurance for bodily injuries caused to two (2) or more people in the same accident. Further, the policy must provide a minimum of $25,000.00 for property damages caused during the accident.
Liability insurance is intended to protect third parties from your negligence, but it does not compensate you for damages caused by their negligence. Unfortanately, many clients believe they have “full coverage,” when, in fact, they only have a liability policy. There are many other coverages available to protect you and your family from the fault of other drivers, which will be explored in my next blog.
Christian Shofstahl esq.
Personal Injury Attorney dedicated to maximizing recoveries for clients. Information contained herein does not constitute legal advice.